Home > Spirituality > Discovering security, stability and joy from Psalm 16

Discovering security, stability and joy from Psalm 16

November 21, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Personal photo

More questions than answers after a week spent in Psalm 16. Perhaps these will touch your heart and mind as they have my own.  What other questions or encouragements arise from Psalm 16 for you?

“Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.” (Ps 16:1 ESV)

  • Refuge implies that I am facing a threat to my well-being.
  • In what way is God currently my refuge?
  • From what or in what events do I need god to be my refuge?
  • What are other places am I tempted to take refuge?

“I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord; Ps 16:2a

  • In whom or what am I trusting this morning?
  • Is Yahweh my Lord? Does intimacy exist in my relationship with God?
  • Do I have a submissive posture to God?

I have no good apart from you. (Ps 16:2b ESV)

  • Worthy of significant meditation.
  • Do I recognize that all the good in my life comes from God?
  • What are the implications of these words?
  • All I have is a gift.
  • I should be grateful
  • God defines what is good for me.
  • If God is not a part of something, how can it be good for me?
  • Do I miss seeing expressions of goodness in my life? (often happens because I am thinking too much about myself)
  • Check out my post on being grateful and on the goodness of God

“As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight.” (Ps 16:3 ESV)

  • What is the state of  my relationships with the saints?
  • Any unresolved conflicts?
  • With whom do I share my heart?
  • How have I been isolating or withdrawing from others?
  • What relationships in my life can I rely upon for help?

“The sorrows of those who run after another god shall multiply; their drink offerings of blood I will not pour out or take their names on my lips.” (Ps 16:4 ESV)

  • To what extent do I feel compassion for those who run after other gods?
  • Am I compromising in any way in my relationships with non-Christians?
  • What other gods am I tempted to follow?
  • In what ways/areas do I envy other people?

“The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.” (Psalms 16:5–6 ESV)

  • How confident am I about the future?
  • What worries me most about the future?
  • For what am I grateful?
  • To what extent am I dissatisfied with my life?
  • Do I believe that God has my back covered? Do I recognize that my life, the current situation I am in and all of my future is protected and preserved by God?
  • In what ways have I experienced the fairness and generosity of God?
  • Describe any areas in which I feel God has been unfair or unjust to me.
  • Am I content with where I am and with my future? Do I really believe that I have a beautiful inheritance?

“I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.” (Ps 16:7 ESV)

  • Am I listening to God and receiving his wisdom?
  • Is my heart saturated by God’s word?
  • What lessons has God been teaching me lately? In what way has God been touching my heart? How connected is my heart to the word?
  • For what do I need his help and counsel?

“I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” (Ps 16:8 ESV)

  • Do I face the Lord every day?
  • How stable do I feel? If not very, is there something for which I need to trust God?

Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption.” (Psalms 16:9–10 ESV)

  • How joyful do I feel?
  • Is my joy dependent on others or on my circumstances?
  • What threatens my security?
  • What concerns do I have about aging?

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” (Psalms 16:11 ESV)

  • Am I on the right track?
  • How aware am I of God’s leading?
  • Am I experiencing joy today?
  1. November 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Beautiful post about the power and Light within Psalms. It is a great tool for reflection as well as the rest of scripture. However Psalms always has a special little place in my heart. Thanks for this post and I will definetly ponder these question tonight while reading the bible. Hopefully this can also give me inspiration for my next post.

    I would love for you to come visit my site as well if you have time =) Below is a post I wrote today after reflecting upon questions to ponder on a fellow bloggers post.

    It is great to share our inspirations and allow others love for the Creator to influence our next posting. I write my best post that way =)

    http://spiritualforce.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/tell-me-your-name/

    • November 21, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Thanks for the comment. I will visit you soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

