Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > The connection between the heart and the tongue

The connection between the heart and the tongue

November 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Personal photo by WC

My words reflect a heart that is saturated by beauty and goodness or contaminated by cynicism, anger and unresolved conflict.

That is why

  • I must pray,”Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight” (Psalm 19:14)
  • I must attempt to exercise self-control over my tongue (James 3:1-12)
  • I must guard my heart and my mouth

“Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!” (Psalms 141:3 ESV)
“I said, “I will guard my ways, that I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth with a muzzle, so long as the wicked are in my presence.”” (Psalms 39:1 ESV)
“Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind.” (Psalms 26:2 ESV)
“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.” (Psalms 51:10 ESV)
“Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.” (Proverbs 4:23 ESV)

As John Eldredge says,

  • My heart is good
  • God is deeply concerned for my heart
  • Because a battle rages for my heart, I must engage the enemy if I am concerned for my heart.

Jesus said ““What comes out of a person is what defiles him.” (Mark 7:20 ESV) Yet because of the ongoing battle, “Who can say, “I have made my heart pure; I am clean from my sin”?” (Proverbs 20:9 ESV)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

