Home > Scripture Reflections, spiritual formation > I trust you but I am not sure I believe you

I trust you but I am not sure I believe you


Personal picture, taken in Mindanao

Earlier in the week, I had to make a choice—to trust someone’s directions or go with my instinct—that told me to NOT to turn.  As we were headed up the road, with no visual indication that they were correct, I said, “I trust you but I am not sure I believe you.”  I said that I was trusting because I took action based upon their knowledge even if my head told me otherwise.  Is not the essence of faith, action based upon knowledge?  Knowledge that the person we are trusting knows what they are doing or a belief that the person upon whom we are relying is trustworthy.

If we know or have a guarantee how things are going to work out, we have no need of faith. Is that correct? Yet, my (preferred?) default is to live life without the need for faith.  I think this is because I must admit an absence of control when I choose to live by faith. And maintaining control, even an illusion of control somehow brings comfort. Not really but I think I have more security when I am in control.  In actuality, when I acknowledge my lack of control to someone I can trust to be in control and who genuinely cares about my well-being, I can relax.  The pressure is off. Now, I am back to Psalm 24:8-10.

Who is this king of Glory? The LORD strong and mighty.
Who is this king of Glory? The LORD mighty in battle.

Who is this king of Glory? The LORD of Hosts
He is the King of Glory.

So, why not . . .
Open up your gates (Surrender control)
Let this King of Glory come in!

Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

