Home > Scripture Reflections > A prayer for holy week

A prayer for holy week


A re-post from 2009 since my Psalm for the week is once again Psalm 23. Enjoy!

Personal photo of icon at Ruach Center

Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd” in John 10:11.  As I read Psalm 23 in the New Living translation, I personalized each line which led to some useful meditation.  Maybe some will find it helpful.

The LORD is my shepherd
YOU are my shepherd

I have all that I need
I have all that I need

He lets me rest in green meadows
YOU let me rest

He leads me besides peaceful streams
YOU lead me

He renews my strength
YOU renew my strength

He guides me along right paths
YOU guide me

bringing honor to his name
YOU allow me to bring honor to YOUR name

Even when I walk thru the darkest valley, I will not be afraid
I will not be afraid

for you are close beside me
YOU are close beside me

Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me
YOU protect and comfort me

You prepare a feast for me in the presence of  my enemies
YOU prepare a feast for me

You honor me by anointing my head with oil
YOU honor me

My cup overflows with blessings
I overflow with blessings

Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life
YOUR goodness and unfailing love pursue me

I will live in the house of the LORD forever
I will live with YOU forever

Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd” in Jn 10:11. When taken with 1 Pet 2:24 and 5:4, it seems appropriate to pray this Psalm this holy week. Thanks to Peter C. Craige.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

