Home > Scripture Reflections > Psalm for the week: Psalm 56

Psalm for the week: Psalm 56


Final Touch by Razaq Vance

To be honest, when I began reading this Psalm on Monday, God appeared to be silent.  That is probably more a reflection of my spiritual/emotional/physical state than God not wanting to speak.  But, I have persisted and here are a few musings after three days in this Psalm.

Faith develops out of hardship.

  • when I am afraid, I put my trust in you 3, 4, 11
  • Erwin McManus said about this: “The process of becoming the person God wants us to become usually doesn’t come from success, success, success. It’s loss, success, failure, success, heartbreak, success, disappointment, success.” from Plan B
  • 2 Cor 1:10 “On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again.”

Anatomy of an enemy exposed

  • trample on us 1, 2
  • attacks 1, 2
  • oppresses 1
  • proud 2
  • injures our cause 5
  • evil thoughts against us 5
  • stirs up strife 6
  • waiting for us to mess up 6
  • crimes against us 7
  • enemies 9

Intensely personal nature of prayer

32 times in the ESV the Psalmist uses the first person pronoun (either me, my or I).

God present with us in the pain

  • Appears that the Psalm turns in verse 9, “In the day when I call, this I now that God is for me.”
  • “And while he’s never promised to take the pain away, he has promised to be right there with us in the midst of it. He grieves with us. He’s sad with us. He cries with us. He knows.” from Plan B

As we experience and move through pain, we are able to help others

  • “If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation.” 2 Cor 1:6
  • “If we are comforted, it is for your comfort.” 2 Cor 1:6
  • “You keep my feet from stumbling,so that I might serve God as I enjoy life.”  v13 NET

How is God speaking to you from Psalm 56?

Tags: ,
  1. karen block
    April 14, 2011 at 9:13 am

    thanks David for sharing this… I too sometimes sit with a bit of Scripture for some time before it starts to resonate… Plan B that resonates! success failure success loss… as the journey into growth also resonates! thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

