Home > Spirituality > How to help people going through divorce

How to help people going through divorce


My parents divorced when I was 10 years old and remarried each other when I was 14. To be honest, life was much less chaotic when they were divorced!

I live in a country (Philippines) where divorce does not exist. I do not think this is a healthy things since women and children seem to suffer the most with no way out.

I am deeply saddened as I think about so many within the church whose marriages have ended in divorce.  Some had no choice–in order to survive, they had to end the relationship. For others, I don’t know what happened and I don’t need to know.

I don’t like divorce–who does besides divorce lawyers?  We know God hates divorce. But He loves those who are divorced and so should we!

Regardless of the reason for divorce, how do those of us who are friends help those who are going through the hell of divorce?  I know in the past, I personally failed to support family members and friends in the way they needed. Sometimes, out of ignorance. At other times, out of self-righteousness or pride.

Anne Jackson writes here out of the pain of personal experience.  I discovered her website while reviewing her book, Mad Church Disease. A great book on burnout and the church that I would highly recommend.

Here are the two things Jackson says:

What To Do: Be there

What NOT To Do: Don’t disappear or blow Jesus smoke.

Check out her post.

Tags: ,
  1. Charlie
    March 30, 2011 at 3:58 am

    Have been spending time here recently with some friends who just lost a child. These two recommendations will work well in this case too – especially the admonition to not “blow Jesus smoke.” Thanks for sharing this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

