Home > Scripture Reflections > Waiting as a metaphor for faith

Waiting as a metaphor for faith


Waiting for train by Sergio Leal

In Psalm 25 (my Psalm for the week), the Psalmist uses waiting as a metaphor for faith in three verses:

  • Psa. 25:3     Indeed, none who wait for you shall be put to shame;
    they shall be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.
  • Psa. 25:5     Lead me in your truth and teach me,
    for you are the God of my salvation;
    for you I wait all the day long.
  • Psa. 25:21     May integrity and uprightness preserve me,
    for I wait for you.

In addition to a direct expression of faith in verse 2, “O my God, in you I trust,” he also expresses faith when he declares,

  • To you, O Lord I lift up my soul 1
  • The friendship of the LORD is for those who fear him 14
  • My eyes are ever toward the LORD 15
  • I take refuge in you 21

Waiting becomes easier when we know the character of the one for whom we are waiting. In Psalm 25, God

  • is merciful 6
  • has steadfast love 6, 7, 10
  • is good 7, 8,
  • is faithful 10
  • is truthful 5

And so, it is not surprising that the Psalmists asks God:

  • make me to known your ways 4
  • teach me your paths 4
  • lead me in the truth 5
  • teach me 5
  • remember your mercy and steadfast love 6
  • remember not the sins of my youth nor my transgressions 7
  • remember me according to your steadfast love and for the sake of your goodness 7
  • for the sake of your name, pardon my guilt, for it is great
  • turn to me and be gracious to me 16
  • bring me out of all my distresses 17
  • consider my affliction and my trouble 18
  • forgive all my sin 18
  • guard my soul 20
  • deliver me 20

When the Psalmist is in a faith (waiting) posture, he trusts that he will not be put to shame:

  • let me not be put to shame 2
  • let my enemies not exult over me 2
  • none who wait for you shall be put to shame 3
  • Let me not be put to shame for I take refuge in you 20

Waiting is not easy for me and Psalm 25 encourages me to go back to the character of God when I am in a position where I am forced to wait.  What helps you to wait?

 

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

