Home > Spirituality > You don’t have to know (or do) it all to be a mentor

You don’t have to know (or do) it all to be a mentor


A leap of faith by Aftab

Maybe some of us are reluctant to be mentors?  Relax! A mentor does not need to have all the answers!

Four Major Pitfalls for the Spiritual Mentor to Avoid

  • The Messiah Complex: I believe I am to rescue you or deliver you from the struggles and pain of your life.
  • The Problem-Solver Mentality: I believe my role is to tell you what the right answers are or to offer a way out for you.
  • The Assembly-Line Syndrome: I believe my role is to shape you into a predetermined form or product.
  • The Wisdom Dispenser Approach: I believe I must dispense wisdom-on-demand every time I meet with my mentoree, because I am a fountain of wisdom and truth.

From Spiritual Mentoring: A Guide for Seeking & Giving Direction by Keith R. Anderson, Randy D. Reese

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

