Home > Spirituality > Thanksgiving Challenge

Thanksgiving Challenge

January 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Rembrandt Healing of the Leper

After reading about the St. Augustine challenge last week, this morning I thought of the Thanksgiving Challenge.  It came out of my reading in Psalm 9 and particularly verse 1, “I will give thanks to Yahweh with my whole heart. I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.”

How important is the discipline of remembering.  The nation of Israel is a classic example.  Read Psalm 107 or the book of Numbers to see how Israel gradually slid into rebellion and apostasy because they ceased to remember, they failed to give thanks.

How tempting it is to stop giving thanks when life squeezes us.  When we begin to forget all the good things that God has brought into our life we are living on dangerous ground. Enough preaching!

Here is the Thanksgiving Challenge: For _____ (one hour, one day, one week), I will give myself to thanksgiving completely–with my whole heart as Psalm 9:1 says.  I will not worry about what has not happened, what might happen, about how I feel, about my doubts or fears.  I will give thanks to Yahweh with my whole heart.  I will recount all of God’s wonderful deeds.  I refuse to complain, grumble, mope, or sulk about what I do not have.  I commit to be grateful for all the ways that God, the Most High is at work in my world and in the world around me.

Let’s try it and see what happens. Let me know.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

