Home > Scripture Reflections > Psalm for the week: Psalm 9

Psalm for the week: Psalm 9

January 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Two things stand out for me from this Psalm.  One, God is seated on the throne and judges fairly–He rules justly.  I need to remember that and that I am but a man. And so the question for me–will I submit to His rule this day? this moment?  Oh God you determine what is right and what is wrong, where I should go and where I should stay.  You determine what is success for me this day.  You know me more thoroughly than any other–uncomfortable but I would not want it any other way.  Will I submit to You this day and recognize your authority to rule over me?  How much simpler life becomes when I do.

Like last week, I will be reading this Psalm daily and value any comments if you care to join me in reading Psalm 9 as well.

Tags:
  1. doris
    January 26, 2011 at 8:54 am

    in my version verse 13 says the Israelites prayed “have mercy on us, o Lord”…I have been thinking about this lately from other Scripture: when was the last time I prayed “Have mercy on me?” I do sometimes pray the “jesus prayer”…but I think I don’t often enough recognize my need for mercy…

  2. doris
    January 28, 2011 at 7:56 am

    i have been thinking about thrones this week…as you may remember from my devotion on Tuesday night from Heb 4:16 “Draw near with confidence to the throne of grace…” God sits on the throne of grace…He also judges fairly. Whatever He dispenses from His throne is done perfectly…
    Unlike we humans, who are prone to swing like a pendulum from grace to judgment to power to gentleness to justice to mercy (and applying none of these very perfectly ourselves), God is always consistent…He combines all these characteristics at once, in tune with each other. Why shouldn’t I approach Him with confidence to find mercy and grace to help in time of need? Why shouldn’t I always be telling of His greatness, rejoicing, giving thanks…instead of more often complaining?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

