Home > Scripture Reflections, spiritual formation > Psalm for the week of Jan 17 2011

Psalm for the week of Jan 17 2011

January 17, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Personal Picture of former city of Gamla in the Golan Heights

Have been thinking about having a reflection on a Psalm for each week for some time but wanted to start on a Monday.  For three years now, one of my disciplines has been to read a selected Psalm daily each week.  The idea began after being required to use A Guidebook to Prayer for one of my classes at Asbury Seminary.  It has been a good discipline to follow a lectionary of sorts.

My hope is that others might read the Psalm for the week and make some contributions throughout the week as I plan to do.  Since I have not been blogging much of late, my blog “traffic” is down quite a bit. We will see what happens.

Psalm 62 is the Psalm for the week of Jan 17 to 23. Unless noted, I am using ESV.

Monday–Read through the entire Psalm but I got stuck on verse 1a, “For God alone my soul waits in silence.”

  • silence I am drawn to the idea of silence. Reading this makes me aware how much I need to get away and spend at least a day in silence–away from people, cell phones and computers.  I spend a lot of silent time at my desk lately writing but that is not the kind of silence I need.
  • my soul Hmmm, assume my nephesh here. Since I am an integrate being, to achieve that inner stillness and silence, I also need an outer silence and a body that is at rest.
  • waits I tend to think of waiting as passive but I think the waiting here is active–intentional, listening, in anticipation, purposeful
  • For God Why God? Why not?  For me, I might say, “At last!” Why does it take me so long to turn to God in waiting? Usually happens when I am not getting help or answers elsewhere and yes, I have been frustrated of late.  Why God?  v1 From him comes my salvation v2 He alone is my rock, my salvation, my fortress
  • Alone Hmmm, who else has the answers I need? Shades of Psalm 121, I lift up my eyes to the hills, where does my help come from?  My help comes from Yahweh, maker of heaven and earth!  Is it necessary that this be exclusive–God alone?  If in silence and I am waiting without distraction, maybe so.  James 1:6–asking or waiting? in faith without doubting.  Committed to do what He says.  And yet my intention is to just be present with him–maybe there will be some communication, maybe not. But that is okay.

I remember these words from David Benner’s new book, Opening to God which I began last week,

Communion includes conversation but is much broader. Because it involves union, not just closeness and connection, it also entails much more intimacy than mere conversation.

Speaking about lectio divina or a formational or spiritual reading of Scripture

It was understood as a way of opening ourselves to God so we might be touched, awakened, realigned, integrated and healed.

Again, I welcome other personal reflections on Psalm 62 throughout the week–best to post in the comment sections but I know others will post on facebook!  I will be updating this post during the week on my Ruach blog.

Tuesday night–almost did not read Psalm 62 today.  Interesting how verses 1 and 2 are almost identical to verses 5 and 6.  Functions as a unit and important to the Psalmist.  Find myself drawn to verse 7 tonight, “On God rests my salvation and my glory.” My rescue from trouble depends on God. My glory is dependent on God–I do not need to go around seeking it!

and v8 pour out your heart before him–is this what happens as I wait in silence before God?  A way that I express my trust in him? What exactly does that mean?  Back to Benner and his comments about prayer being related to openness to God.  Lord, I am not too good at revealing what is inside me to others and to you–help me to do so.

Tags:
  1. January 19, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Wednesday–had a long reflection on Psalm 62 this morning–even practicing For God alone, my soul waits in silence. I wondered for what had the Psalmist been waiting? Was he waiting for God to speak? Or waiting for God’s deliverance? What about the desire to just be present with God in silence? That is very attractive to me.

    From the context, the Psalmist needs salvation or rescue. He is under attack, lied against, slandered, subject of gossip. Perhaps he even experienced being robbed and extorted? (see v10).

    How to wait or what is needed to wait? Trust in him at all times. Pour out your heart to him. Be aware that he is our refuge.

    As I waited on God in silence today, I found myself doing a lot of talking–I think I needed to talk and I am glad God was listening. I am grateful that even though it is for God alone that I wait in silence, I am not alone. He meets with me. He is present with me.

  2. doris
    January 21, 2011 at 8:38 am

    thanks for the reminder to look at Psalm 62. Also one of my favorites. I have missed studying a psalm a week, as I have been out of the habit lately.

    I was struck by the word “upended” in the NET Bible at the end of verses 2 and 6 (as you noted above, a repetition). I will not be upended if I wait on the Lord and listen to Him. I will not be stood on my head.

    An image came into my mind: how effective am I when I am stood on my head? answer: not very! not only would I look ridiculous, wiht my feet waving in the air, and all the blood running to my head, I also would not be thinking very clearly, or able to move or go anywhere. I would be forced to use my hands to keep myself upright, and my hands couldn’t be very useful for helping others at that time…and my hands, and arms are not very strong anyway, and so I would effectively collapse in a heap….

    I don’t want to be upended-although I often let myself be upended by circumstances or people’s hurtful words.

    Here is a promise for me: God is my protector, deliverer, refuge. I will not be upended.

  3. January 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Hmmm, my version (ESV) says “greatly shaken” I wonder if it this is a promise not to be upended or not to be upended for a long time? Thanks for joining in the reflection.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

