Home > Scripture Reflections > Good and bad choices

Good and bad choices

December 24, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Eternity is decided by a series of choices which each of us makes in the course of life.” Alan Redpath from a sermon on 1 Samuel 24:1-22

Sometimes I fool myself into thinking my bad choices will be overcome by good ones.  In the short-term, perhaps the answer is yes.  Yet, each choice made (whether good or bad), lays a foundation for what is to follow.  Is this not why Hebrews warns about drift, neglect and willful sin.  We assume that we can always reverse things but only God knows when we cross the line of no return.

And, in the same way, my good choices lay a positive foundation for the future.  Not that my choices can make things happen.  I am finally realizing that I am not in control of very much in my life.   Yet that is no excuse to do whatever I want.  “And he died for all so that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised.” (2 Cor 5:15)

What good and bad choices did you make in 2010?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

