Home > Leadership > Delegation and leadership

Delegation and leadership

October 19, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

When I led an organization, I often delegated work but I was not always clear about the nature of the delegation or what I expected and I sometimes frustrated people I worked with by taking back what I had given them to do.  I wish I had known about the five levels of delegation that Michael Hyatt explains in his post here.

  • Level 1: Do exactly what I have asked you to do. Don’t deviate from my instructions. I have already researched the options and determined what I want you to do.
  • Level 2: Research the topic and report back. We will discuss it, and then I will make the decision and tell you what I want you to do.
  • Level 3: Research the topic, outline the options, and make a recommendation. Give me the pros and cons of each option, but tell me what you think we should do. I agree with your decision, I will authorize you to move forward.
  • Level 4: Make a decision and then tell me what you did. I trust you to do the research, make the best decision you can, and then keep me in the loop. I don’t want to be surprised by someone else.
  • Level 5: Make whatever decision you think is best. No need to report back. I trust you completely. I know you will follow through. You have my full support.
Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

