Home > Books I have read recently > Living with margins

Living with margins

September 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Are you living without any margins in your life?  No reserves?  Right on the edge all the time? Richard Swenson provides the following prescription

Symptom: Pain
Diagnosis: Overload
Prescription: Margin
Prognosis: Health

He says Margin is the space that “exists between ourselves and our limits.” 42   “the space between our load and our limits something held in reserve for emergencies, the gap between rest and exhaustion.” 69

We need margin to live well, according to Swenson.

Swenson suggests we should live with margin in
Physcially
Emotionally
Financially
Our time

What does it look like for you when you have margin in each of these?  When you are marginless? Any other areas you would suggest in which we should have margins? Spiritually?

Next: why do we live marginlness lives?

  1. Joe
    September 29, 2010 at 6:22 am

    I enjoy living life with no margins. To me thats the only way one can grow spiritually, no pain ,no suffering, no stress, no worries. margins create boundaries and limitations, which leads to margin of error.
    I guess I could be missing the point on what you are saying or I could be listening, understanding from a different plane.

    • September 29, 2010 at 7:36 am

      Well, that is one way to live but I guess the question is for me–are you living a healthy life? Swenson would likely to say that it is not possible to live a healthy life when you have no margins. I certainly lived that way for much of my life, primarily because of my drivenness. One advantage of margins (again according to Swenson) is that we can then be available to others because we have extra space in our lives. When we live maxed out, often we have little space for the unexpected and can view events and others who are not part of our plan as irritants. Again, I am only speaking for myself. Even though right now I am working with minimal margins in my time and emotional energy, I know that this is not an acceptable long-term solution for me. i welcome the dialogue!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

