Home > ministry, Misc > Why do you do what you do?

Why do you do what you do?


why dont cats fly by jur igruh

If you are like me, you may not like the above question but it is one that is worth answering.  Just discovered Chris Tomlinson’s blog in which he makes  posts here and here asking those pesky “why” question related to our motivation for being involved in ministry.

In a reflecting on why he writes and blogs, Tomlinson wrote, “I write in order to

  • Be affirmed
  • Express a gift
  • Force myself to think more deeply about daily life
  • Prove I have something worth saying, or prove I am valuable because of what I do
  • Attempt to know more of God
  • Share ways in which the gospel touches our daily lives
  • Satisfy my ego
  • Proclaim Jesus as the greatest satisfaction to our soul’s deepest cravings”
  • Feel important or impactful

Tomlinson continues, “You will notice a mix of pride-filled motives and grace-filled motives in this list.  My confession to God is that I am not ready to fully submit my writing to Him and His purposes alone, and my prayer is that He will help me remove my own selfish motives and replace them with His motives instead.”

Asking people why they do what they do is not a question to casually ask people.  Trust me, I have offended people on more than one occasion!  Our internal motivations are often hidden deep within and we need God’s gentle Spirit and the loving interaction with others to discern these blind spots.  May we be people who lovingly respond to others as well as be people who build community around us so that we might be prepared to hear the truth about ourselves.

Why do you do what you do?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

