Home > spiritual formation > Making a (good) confession

Making a (good) confession


What is the problem with Psalm 51?  Aha, maybe the problem is with me! As I spent the week in Psalm 51, I wondered why I was not “getting” more from it.  After all, I had looked at the original and outlined the character of God, the types of sin and the transformation God can make in us as we are honest about our sin.  My problem: I had forgotten personal confession.

I was reading what has to be one of the most powerful passages on confession and I had missed something basic.  I needed to spend some time in personal confession!

How do I make a good confession? Since confession helps me to maintain a relationship with God, why not modify the model I use in dealing with hurts in relationships?  So, I began to work my way through confession of personal pride, anxiety, fear and lust using the following before God.

I was wrong when I  . . .

I hurt you (and others) by . . . This is sin because . . .

I am sorry.

I don’t want to do it again.  Help me.

Please forgive me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

