Home > Uncategorized > Leaders are readers

Leaders are readers


Not everyone is a reader.  I discovered this over the past few years.  Actually, I have been shocked to discover the people who do not read and wondered how someone in their position could afford NOT to read.

Michael Hyatt wrote the following to new graduates recently:

If you are going to be successful, you must be a lifelong learner. Above all, read. As John C. Maxwell says, “Leaders are readers, and readers are leaders.” I have seen this play out again and again. Read books. Subscribe to key blogs. Listen to podcasts.

Just last night, someone suggested that when I am recommending a book to someone, I am trying to “fix” them. Painful to hear those words for someone like me who always has a book to suggest.  I need to do a better job of listening without giving advice or trying to fix.  Back to our coaching training in which we ask non-directive, non-manipulative, non-leading, open ended questions to people so that they can move along the path of self-discovery at their own pace and in step with God’s Spirit.

If I accept the premise that not everyone is a reader, how can a non-reader continue to be a life-long learner?

Here is another related post by Hyatt, “In the Defense of Books.”

  1. doris
    May 20, 2010 at 8:11 am

    How to be a learner without being a reader?
    be a good listener! think about oral cultures: who passes the collective wisdom down through the ages? listen to others, especially elders, but also the young who view life with new perspective. learn from others’ experiences by getting them to tell their stories.

    learn from your own experiences: take the time to reflect, chew on, mull over what God is doing in and around you, before seeking after and pursuing new experiences (or reading that new book!)

    but must admit I too am a voracious reader, and have much to learn from my own advice…

    • May 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Great idea. Thank you. I guess I could “share” what I am learning from the books I read with others if they are not readers. Need to be careful there . . . Oh, you are talking about those of us who are readers–to reflect on what we have read before moving on to the next book–hmmm?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

