Home > spiritual formation > Dangerously Thirsty

Dangerously Thirsty


Da mihi bibere by Salvador Dali

When we are dangerously thirsty, we are vulnerable to any number of soul numbing temptations.

For what do we/I thirst?

  • Fame
  • Recognition
  • Status
  • Success
  • Significance
  • Respect

What stimulates thirst?

  • Fear
  • Lonelinesss
  • Anger
  • Opposition/Failure
  • Fatigue

Where do I go or what do I do when nothing quenches my thirst?

  • Bury myself in work
  • Distract myself with television/movies/internet/books
  • Exhaust myself with exercise
  • Stimulate myself with any number of adrenalin inducing activities
  • Feel good about myself by helping others
  • Forget about myself by sleeping
  • Others—beauty, friendships, music, worship activity

Rembrandt's woman at the well

Jesus said that our thirst can be quenched:

  • “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. . . Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water” John 7:37.
  • “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me shall not hunger and whoever believes in me shall never thirst John” 6:35.

Other thoughts

  • “Where freedom is near, the chains begin to hurt.”  Jurgen Moltmann
  • “When we unashamedly preach true, holy and God honoring pleasure, the sordidness of sin, the foolishness of spiritual rebellion and the agony of addictions become shockingly apparent.” Gary Thomas
  • “Hope in God for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.” Psalm 42

Question: How or why do we allow ourselves to get so thirsty that we are willing to drink poisoned water to quench our thirst?”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

