Home > Spirituality > God is eager to bless

God is eager to bless


Lars Klotrrup Picture

You might expect the above statement to come from a health and wealth proponent but it comes from a man who is soon to die; who has lived with severe chronic pain and cancer the last few years.  Following are excerpts from an interview Timothy Dalrymple had with William Stuntz. One of the most compelling pieces I have ever read.  Thanks to my dear wife. Headings are mine but the rest is excerpted from an interview with Stuntz.

God is eager to bless

My experience of cancer especially is that God is just so eager to bless.  I find blessing all over the place, not in the cancer itself but all around it.  It would almost be easier to answer what blessings I have not found.

Since my cancer diagnosis, I have experienced more friendship from more people than at any other time in my life.  I’ve experienced not just a quality of medical care but a kind of medical care, humane medical care delivered by humane and decent people, that seems Christ-like to me.  I don’t know the religious convictions of all the people who have treated me, but I certainly believe that they are used by God in ways that are really quite extraordinary to bring blessing to people who are in circumstances that lead them to hunger for blessing.  I do hunger for blessing in the midst of these medical conditions, but I regularly find that hunger satisfied.

Life has become more concrete

Chronic pain and cancer both make life more concrete.  In times of good health, when our bodies are doing everything we want and expect them to do, there is a tendency to think of spiritual life as something that is anything but concrete.  That’s not possible, I find, in my present circumstances.  My medical conditions, independently and together, are inescapable.  Perhaps that’s the key feature.  They are there all the time.  There is no time when I am not aware of them.  I hurt all the time.  I’m exhausted all the time.  There is no escaping either of those states of affairs.  I simply never feel like I used to feel virtually all the time.

I am more than but not less than a cancer patient

I want to be more than a cancer patient and chronic pain patient.  But I cannot be less than a cancer patient and a chronic pain patient.  Those are large parts of my life.  They are part of who I am.  Although I would love to have my pain and my cancer removed tomorrow, that would not be an easy thing.  I would have to learn how to be somebody else.

NOT Believing in the God of Disappointment

What I am displeased with is my own living of life.  I feel an acute sense that I ought to have done better with the circumstances I was given.  This is one of the reasons why it cut me so deeply when people suggested that suffering is God’s discipline — because I find it so very, very easy to believe in a God who is profoundly disappointed in me.

It seems utterly natural to believe in the Disappointed God, because I myself am disappointed.  He must be even more disappointed, I think, because his standards are so much higher than mine.  How could he not be disappointed?  That makes complete sense to me.

It’s the other God, the God who does not experience that kind of disappointment, the God who sees me the way that Prodigal Son’s father saw him — that is the harder God for me to believe in.  It takes work for me to believe in that God.

God longing for me is unspeakably sweet

“You will call and I will answer.  You will long for the creature your hands have made” (Job 14:15).

I find those lines very powerful.  The concept that God longs for the likes of me is so unspeakably sweet.  I almost cannot bear to say them aloud.  They are achingly sweet for me to hear.

There are many passages I love, but that one in particular has grabbed hold of me.  Job’s hope, it turns out, is more realistic than his despair.

  1. March 11, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    About the God of Disappointment, I see what you mean, the Devil and our natural sin is why we don’t live up to that standard. And God truly does want us and wants to bless us, but He doesn’t unless we accept Him just as much. We hold to Him and He’ll do the same.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

