Home > Ramblings > A decision to rejoice

A decision to rejoice

February 23, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

What would happen if each of us who is a follower of Jesus Christ made a daily decision to rejoice and be glad in God and to say to ourselves and to all who will listen, “Great is the LORD!”?

Even though I started a new Psalm today, I was drawn back to Psalm 40 from last week.  Towards the end of the week last week, I discovered the beautiful truth of Psalm 40: 16-17.

“But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you;
May those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the LORD.”
As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me.
You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay O my God” ESV

Psalm 40 is a Psalm in which David is expressing his trust in God despite many struggles and much opposition. In verse 16, it appears that he made the following decision, “I am going to rejoice and be glad in you and say Great is the LORD!” And in the Psalm, he states this as an exhortation to those of us who say that we are trusting God.

I find this both a challenge and a liberating truth.  My circumstances and struggles may not have changed but since I am seeking God above all else, I can make the decision to to rejoice and be glad in Him! When I focus on enjoying God and taking delight in Him, it is interesting how I seem to have less energy, less attention and less time to spend thinking about my own problems and issues.  The struggle may continue but somehow I have changed.  And then, as one who loves God’s salvation, I proclaim continually GREAT IS THE LORD.  Great is the LORD, Great is the LORD, Great is the LORD.

Here is a challenge. For the next week, let us be intentional by daily (hourly?) stopping to rejoice and be glad in God and to say continually to ourselves and to others, Great is the LORD.

Today, I thought of another practical help–begin giving thanks!  There is probably a difference between rejoicing and giving thanks but I think that when I start giving thanks, I start rejoicing and then suddenly I find that I am glad in God. Actually, in our home church last week, we discovered that thanksgiving can also be used as a weapon against the sins of the flesh in Eph 5:1-4.  See verse 4 to see why we thought that.  You could also see 1 Thess 5:16-18; Phil 1:18-19 and 4:10-13.

  1. February 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    David, wow! I am so with you in what you wrote here, it is something the Lord has taught me much about in the past 8 months, even in the midst of tragic and very difficult circumstances.

    Joy can be a choice, not something that depends on external circumstances. Delight can be a verb as in “delight yourself in Christ.” And even this morning I was reminded of the power of thanksgiving to help me draw near to the Lord and to break free from some sinful attitudes.

    It’s been awhile since I’ve read Psalm 40, but I’ve been struck several times recently by Psalm 105:2-3

    Sing to him, sing praises to him;
    tell of all his wondrous works!
    3 Glory in his holy name;
    let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice!

    I really enjoy your blog, thanks for all you share.

    Karen B.
    Lent & Beyond

    (P.S., I sent you an email yesterday following your comment at Lent & Beyond. Hoping you got it…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

