Home > Scripture Reflections > Where to cast my nets?

Where to cast my nets?

January 21, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Does God care about where I am investing my time?  Does he know where and how I may be most productive in each and every moment? I know that it is not always about productivity. But, is he concerned with what I am doing every second of every day?  I think so. Does he tell me what to do in each of those seconds? Definitely not.  It seems that he gives us a free will to choose what we see as the best and in doing so, we follow the general principles and guidelines that he has given as we work and live and relate to one another and the world around us. But, I wonder, are there times when he may want to communicate with us about a “place where” or a “time when” or a “person with whom” we should invest our energies?

One morning, in Luke 5:1-11, after a frustrating night of fishing, Jesus tells Simon to try fishing once again and tells him to “put out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch” (5:4). Simon obeys, “But at your word, I will let down the nets” (5:5) and the result is a record breaking catch. I am not exactly sure why Jesus did this although the result is that Simon becomes aware of the holiness of Jesus and of his own sinfulness and ends up in worship of Jesus. By the end of the story, Simon has left everything behind and follows Jesus in a life of discipleship.

I think we all would acknowledge that Jesus does care about how and where and with whom we invest our time. About where to go to church? About what ministry to be involved in? About who to call or email or text or visit? And so we read the Bible, talk to fellow believers and pray.

As I continue to work on my dissertation, is it possible that Jesus would ever have something to say about what area of my writing that I should focus on today? About what articles would be most beneficial? About how to get the right wording in that paragraph?  I don’t know.

I hesitate to write this lest anyone think I am saying that we should not do anything unless we hear from God.  That is NOT what I am saying.  In fact, this brings up another issue—how do we know Jesus might be directing us to do something when he is not here today.  Some would say he only speaks through his word today.  Well, I would say that he never speaks in contradiction to his word but that he does still speak today.  How we discern that is another question. In the absence of any clear communication, we are to follow the God-given wisdom and insight that he has given to us.  But, maybe, just maybe there are times in our day when

Jesus may have something to say to us about where we should cast our nets. Will we be listening?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

