The battle for control

January 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tree Snake and Morelet Tree Frog by Dave Maitland

“I believe that the essence of sin is the fear that God does not have our best interests at heart.” 97 So said Gary Moon in Apprenticeship with Jesus: Learning to live like the Master. I am currently in the section called “Know Yourself” and there are four chapters here, The Good, Bad, The Ugly and The Beautiful.  Naturally, I want to write about “The Bad.”

Moon says that when we begin to fear that God does not have our best interests at heart, we try to control things. Then, he concludes the chapter with some reflections and says, “Consider that apart from God’s presence and grace, your soul is lost and ruined.” He then asks us to consider what happens when God is not in control of your life and when he is not in control.

Three questions for reflection come out of this

What happens when I am in control of my

    • thoughts
    • emotions
    • will
    • behavior
    • relationships

What happens when God is in control of my thought

    • thoughts
    • emotions
    • will
    • behavior
    • relationships

What can I do to allow God to be in control in my life?

Maybe I will share my answers later in the week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 27, 2010 at 4:20 am

Leave a Reply

