Home > culture > A book on introverts in the church

A book on introverts in the church

December 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have yet to be in any kind of routine to blog much of late.  But, with quick glance at the Kruse Kronicle this morning, I saw his post about Introverts in the Church: Finding our Place in an Extroverted Culture by Adam S. McHugh.  When McHugh talks about the terms introvert and extrovert, he is referring to the Myers Briggs temperament types.  If you don’t know your type, it is worth a look.  No time now to look for links but free tests online abound.

Kruse writes about the McHugh book

What McHugh astutely observes is the domination of extroverted modes of relating in the Evangelical world. For that reason, many introverted Evangelicals feel deeply out of place in their church community. Introverts in the Church helps introverts give voice to the discomfort they feel … I know he does for me. But it secondarily highlights how the church fails to effectively be a holistic community that brings together people of different temperaments because of deeply held assumptions about that see extroversion as the normative way of leading, relating, and worshiping.

I find this to be a very interesting premise.  And as a Introvert (despite what my wife claims), this is a book I plan to order and buy soon.  Maybe our church worship leaders would consider more reflection, contemplation and silence if they read this book?

Update January 13: Book arrived yesterday but it is a bit down on the list to be read!

  1. January 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I may have to check out McHugh’s book, too. It’s been quite awhile since I took the Myers-Briggs, but I know I was strongly on the Introvert side. (No one who knows me well would be too surprised.)

    Sirrahc
    AViewFromTheRight.wordpress.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

