Home > Uncategorized > The cost of unity

The cost of unity

December 12, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Like many Christians, I talk a good game when it comes to unity. After all, Jesus prayed that we may be one just as Jesus and the Father are one (Jn 17:11, 22) and that our unity might demonstrate to the world that Jesus was sent from the Father.  So far, so good.  But what price am I personally willing to pay to achieve this unity?  David Hayward asks ten questions that IF I AM HONEST, I cannot simply answer yes, of course.  Maybe you could say that some of his questions are flawed but not all of them.  Thanks David for making me think! Following are his questions:

  1. Do I truly believe that everyone has the right to their own beliefs or lack thereof?
  2. Can I respect the person, even though I may not respect their ideas?
  3. Do I have the capacity to recognize my own fallacies?
  4. Will it kill me if I were wrong?
  5. Am I able to hold what I believe is truth lightly in the interest of dialog?
  6. Can I overlook and maybe even appreciate the idiosyncrasies of others in order to hear what they have to say?
  7. Am I willing to discern the deeper currents rather than being distracted by the surface ripples?
  8. Can everyone play? In other words, will I not ostracize someone because of their beliefs or lack thereof?
  9. Is personal harm to others the only prohibition I am willing to make?
  10. Do I love all beings, and if not, am I willing?
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

