Home > Ramblings > Four keys to a quiet soul

Four keys to a quiet soul

September 13, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

From my wife, via Peter’s Wife, Sept 2009

1. Solitude: When am I alone, but not lonely?

If we are going to have any solitude, even when alone, it has to be a conscious choice.

2. Silence: When am I quiet, but not restless?
“What the soul must do during these seasons of quietness amounts to no more than proceeding gently and noiselessly in prayer” Teresa of Avila

3. Scripture: Am I feeding my soul on the word of God?
“I found your words and ate them and your words became to me the joy and the delight of my heart. . .” (Jeremiah 15:16)

4. Surrender: What am I trying to manage that is too big for me?

This is where we take His yoke and find that it is easy. “Walk with me and work with me–watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.” (Matthew 11:29, Message Bible)

“Father, show me how to get some solitude in my busy, noisy world. Help me learn to quiet my soul and listen for your soft voice. Feed me from the Bread of Life that I will be strong. I surrender my burdens and ask you to teach me to wear your yoke. For Your glory.”


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

