Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > Imagining Jesus

Imagining Jesus


As I read in Luke 22:40-44 and then in Matthew 12:46-50, I have tried to imagine how the words Jesus spoke sounded and how he looked!  In Luke 22, he comes upon the disciples sleeping (exhausted from grief Luke tells us) after telling them to pray so that “they might not give into temptation.”   He says in verse 46, “Why are you sleeping? Get up and pray, so that you will not give in to temptation.”   Was he angry or frustrated?  Trying to make them feel guilty or shame them?  I don’t think so and I suspect the fact that I go there first reveals more about my failure to understand the love of God than anything else.  I need help in understanding how Jesus may have responded to the sleeping disciples.

Forgiving Father by WesleySecond scene, Jesus is speaking and his mother and brothers want to speak to him in Matthew 12:46-50. This is relayed to Jesus in some way and his response is, “Who is my mother? Who are my brothers?  Look, these are my mother and brothers. Anyone who does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”  Again, I am trying to imagine the response of Jesus here to the crowd.  There is no way that he was insulting or disrespectful towards his family.  I think He was teaching that obedience brings an intimacy of relationship with God and others that often exceeds that of flesh and blood relationships.   But, how did he say it?  What did he look like?

I guess you could say that if it was important that Luke or Matthew would have told us.  But, it is important to me.  Jesus reveals what God, our Father in heaven is like to us. I want to relate deeply to the Jesus of the Bible, the Jesus who is alive today,  and to my heavenly Father who cares for me.  Sometimes past baggage seems to prevent that  and that is why I need the input of my brothers and sisters in Christ.   Thanks in advance.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

