Home > culture > What academic credentials can’t guarantee

What academic credentials can’t guarantee


Just read a fascinating article, The Case for Working with your hands by Matthew B. Crawford that was passed onto me by my wife.  I have always had a high respect for  people in the trades, who could create something with their hands.  Sadly, being a tradesman here where I live is not an esteemed profession to which one would aspire.  The goal for too many is to go to college, graduate and work in an air conditioned office behind a computer!  Something is wrong with this picture!   Reading Crawford may remind you of values we have forgotten in our post-modern culture.   He notes, “A good job requires a field of action where you can put your best capacities to work and see an effect in the world. Academic credentials do not guarantee this.”

As somone who has spent most of my life in academics, I think I need to learn a new hobby in my old age!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

