Home > Scripture Reflections > Trying to grieve

Trying to grieve


I really don’t want to be reading a Psalm this week about joy from Psalm 126.  I want to be reading a Psalm of lament, something that will help me to grieve, to complain, to express the deep pain and loss of yet another close friend.

Peterson writes about joy, “It is not what we have to acquire in order to experience life in Christ; it is what comes to us when we are walking in the way of faith and obedience.” 92   So, can I be in mourning and still have joy?  I don’t know about that.

More from Peterson, “All suffering, all pain, all emptiness, all disappointment is seed: sow in in God, he will, finally, bring a crop of joy from it. . . One of the most interesting and remarkable things that Christians learn is that laughter does not exclude weeping.  Christian joy is not an escape from sorrow.  Pain and hardship still come but they are unable to drive out the happiness of the redeemed.”  96

“Christian joy is actual in the midst of pain, suffering, loneliness and misfortune,” says Peterson.

I don’t know, maybe joy is coming but it sure doesn’t feel much like joy right now.  I have hope in the resurrection and that reality takes away some of the seeming futility of life right now. Maybe that is what Peterson means when he says, “The joy comes because God knows how to wipe away tears, and, in his resurrection work, create the smile of life. Joy is what God gives, not what we work up.”

We will see.  For now, it just hurts and I hope I can avoid expressing my anger toward those who do and say such hurtful things.  Life is too short.

  1. Anonymous
    May 13, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Has your friend, Don, died?

    • May 13, 2009 at 11:47 am

      Yes, I neglected to say that. Only heard yesterday that he died in the early morning hours.

  2. Anonymous
    May 13, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I am sorry to hear, Dave. Have you talked with Linda?

    • May 13, 2009 at 8:52 pm

      who is this?

  3. wayne
    May 14, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Sorry for being anonymous. Prayed for you this morning!

    • May 14, 2009 at 1:49 pm

      talked to her before he died but will call them after a few days have passed. thanks for prayer my friend

  4. Charlie
    May 21, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Dave,
    I am very sorry to hear this. I have been praying for you and his family, and will continue.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

