Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > Praying Psalm 131

Praying Psalm 131


I am always challenged when I read and pray through Psalm 131 and this week has been no exception.  After some reflection on this personally and with a group, I ask, what was the Psalmist saying as he prayed this Psalm?  That he had no pride in his life?  I don’t think so.  But maybe he was praying

I declare that

  • God is in control, I am not!
  • Life is all about God, not about me!
  • Any strengths that I possess come as a gift of God

I am committed to

  • Consider others as more important than myself
  • Unseen acts of service
  • Listening, believing and obeying what God has to say to me
  • Listen to God speaking to me through my brothers and sisters
  • Submit myself to God’s correction and rebuke
  • Waiting on God before I respond or act
  • Be slow to speak, slow to anger and quick to listen
  • Allow myself to be transformed by love
  • Cease striving, relax and rest in God
  • Christ being centered in my life
  • Humble myself before You God
  • Be content with God’s provision
  • Delight in submitting to your authority
  • Yield up my rights to God
  • Seek to value the needs of others over my own
  • Submit my life, my plans, my ambitions, my relationships, my dreams, opportunities, schedule, etc to God
  • Actively look for ways God’s goodness is expressed in my life and in the lives of others
  • Embrace my areas of weakness
  • Humbly use any strengths God has given for His glory

I refuse to

  • Be seduced by power and pride
  • Compare myself to others
  • Look down on others
  • Consider myself as more important than others
  • Give up
  • Allow anyone or anything control of my life except the Spirit of God
  • Respond defensively to the suggestions or criticisms of others.
  • live with a controlling, judgmental attitude.

I confess

  • My total absolute need for God
  • How desperate and dependent upon God that I am
  • Jesus is Lord
  • How easily I forget God and how quickly I seek to act independently of God and others.
  • How wrong it is to compete with others for honor and position
  1. eminamarie
    April 30, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks! I’m blessed to find such post.
    God bless!

    • April 30, 2009 at 8:50 pm

      many thanks for your encouragement

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

