Home > culture, videos > Beauty that we can respect

Beauty that we can respect


The following youtube video of Susan Boyle singing “I dreamed a dream” has been viewed close to 30 million times and has an amazing 150,000 comments so likely there is nothing new for most of you.  But, my wife sent me a link to an article by Colette Douglas in which she analyzes why so many (yes, including me) were surprised when she began to sing in a reaction that she described as “rude and cruel and arrogant.”   More biting words from Douglas,

Not only do you have to be physically appealing to deserve fame; it seems you now have to be good-looking to merit everyday common respect. If, like Susan (and like millions more), you are plump, middle-aged and too poor or too unworldly to follow fashion or have a good hairdresser, you are a non-person.

In Douglas’ article we learn some of Susan Boyle’s story, about how she was a care giver for her mother until recently.   As I think about this story, 1 Peter 3 comes to mind in which wives are said to be able to win over their husbands “without words by the behavior of their wives.” Specifically, what makes a difference says Peter, is their “inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and a quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

As I write this, I am listening to Shawn McDonald’s “Hallelujah” which is a song in which he sings about the “Be Attitudes” of Mtt 5.  Quite moving.  I would love to hear Susan Boyle sing this song.  Forgive me Father for judging by the outward appearance–I should know better.

And in case you are not among the 30 million who have watched the video of Susan singing, here it is.


  1. April 21, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    The first thing I thought of when my husband played this on You Tube was awesome, God is revealing He can use anyone, no matter what they look like! The sad thing is looks matter in the body of Christ also. I believe however a new day is arising when it won’t matter about looks, but about the heart. Thank you for this post. I have been reading your posts for years.

    • April 21, 2009 at 4:56 pm

      Well we pray may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven and in heaven, we know that God looks on the heart and is concerned with renewing the inner man day by day even as the outer shell is decaying. I have been in some fellowships in which recovery is being celebrated and in those services, it did not appear to matter if you were a pretty face or not but one on a journey with the Lord Jesus Christ. For me, I need to begin by asking God to change my heart. Thanks for the encouraging post. Have I been blogging for years?

  2. April 21, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Concerning your blogging, oops, what I meant was for about two years. God is still transforming my heart, it seems like the critical spirit creeps in at the most unexpected times. My issue is not to worry about what others think and step out in faith to do what I know I am called to. My fear used to be posting comments…I am actually having fun posting and meeting other bloggers. My favorite posts on your blog have been on spiritual formation.

  3. April 21, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks for mentioning Shawn McDonald, his music touches the soul.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

