Home > religion > Lenten Links

Lenten Links

February 26, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Since the lenten season began yesterday with Ash Wednesday, here are a couple of places to look about lent if you are interested.  Once again, Ruth Barton provides some challenging words for us about lent.  She suggests that lent is not just about disciplines of abstinence–what we give up.  Writing about the lenten disciplines of prayer and repentance, she writes, “They are a means to an end and that end is that we would return to God with all our hearts.”  Barton says,

The real question of the Lenten season is: How will I find ways to return to God with all my heart? This begs an even deeper question: Where in my life have I gotten away from God and what are the disciplines that will enable me to find my way back?

Check out her full article here as well as her Transforming Center website. I have read all of her books and highly recommend them.

Then, my wife sent me some links to Breakpoint’s blog which provided other resources.  To find out about the meaning of lent, when it is practiced and to find some beginning resources, see this article by Craig R. Higgens.

Finally, here is a link to day 1 of reflections by Catherine Larson in which she writes about being honest enough to admit the evil that lurks in our hearts.

Speaking honestly, I confess that I really don’t know much about lent and have never used the weeks of lent or even the week of Easter as a time of personal reflection.  I think that needs to change.

  1. Chas
    February 27, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Barton’s Lenten piece was one of the most balanced that I have read yet. Thanks for sharing it. She writes of the many ways that we can “leave” God. She is so right. I have been observing the liturgical calendar for about 2 years now and have found it to be a kind of tether that keeps the daily rhythm of my life and thoughts focused upon God, the remembrance of what He has done, and what he has promised to do.

  1. February 27, 2009 at 12:28 am
  2. March 3, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

