Home > Music > Hymns or Me’s

Hymns or Me’s

February 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My wife pointed me to the following article on the sad state in much of our Christian music.  From an article by Tony Woodlief on World Mag site.

Interesting comments section–some music mentioned there I am going to check out.  As my dear one noted this morning, some of these songs might be ok if sung privately as an individual act of worship but they just don’t work as part of public worship if their goal is to bring us together as a group before God’s throne.    Thoughts?

Tags: ,
  1. Chas
    February 26, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Where to start? I have thought much about this and I tend to think it is mainly “Me’s”…romanticizing God rather than acknowledging him as the high and holy One.

    It seems to me that part of what has happened is that the CCM industry has jumped from the radio station/concert hall into the sanctuary. There is a good reason why much of hymnody (and the Psalms) is written in verse/stanza format. It sings well in congregational settings. For many, what is sung on “K-LOVE” is simply awkward to sing in public worship.

    One big concern of mine is that we, at least in evangelical circles, may be on the verge of losing a whole body of wonderful, time-tested hymnody. The next generation will have lost a great treasure. I hope that we wake up to this before it is too late. The good news is that many are waking up, even among young people. The so-called Ancient-Future Worship movement is in large part a reaction to the pop stuff in so many churches today.

    Grace and Peace.

    • February 26, 2009 at 6:53 am

      I think there are people out there that recognize what treasure we have in the hymns and so casting them with new tempos has helped bring them to where the younger generations are able to listen to the words. I have downloaded a number of these on itunes and they bring new life to the old hymns–sort of like reading New Living after reading King James. If you went back to the original post on this and read thru the comments on world mag blog, a lot of issues come out. They refer to RUF music–assume that means reformed ??? maybe that is the same as your ancient future worship??

      Clearly some of the music on the radio was never designed to be sung in the church congregation but in an attempt to be relevant we bring them in and I agree that they don’t work in the way that hymns do that were designed to be sung by the body. That said, many of these current songs, I really like personally. I find my interests broadening as I get older–even enjoying rap and what some label as alternative. Need to send this link to Paul.

  2. Chas
    February 26, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Good points. I hope I didn’t sound anti-contemporary music. I too enjoy some of the new stuff and believe God can use it. Casting old hymns to new yet easily sung melody is a good thing and I hope more of that is done. I do however think that worship pastors need to give more attention to what is actually suitable for congregational singing. What sings well and electrifies in the concert hall won’t necessarily produce the same effect in the sanctuary. People often get left behind in terms of both the melody and the emotion.

    Always enjoy your posts. Press on!

    • February 26, 2009 at 8:52 am

      I think we are close on this one altho I prefer the second service and I think you prefer the first? Thanks for the encouraging words.

  3. Chas
    February 26, 2009 at 11:36 am

    In a perfect world I think I’d prefer to split the difference:-) Blessings!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

