Home > God, Spirituality > The Essence of Evil

The Essence of Evil

February 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am much more aware today of the potential of evil within me than I was twenty years ago. What is the nature of evil that I do? I know that I do evil when I disobey God.  But, anyone who has been a Christian for very long knows that a solution focused on commandment-keeping does not work.  Why?  Because as John Piper says,

The essence of our evil is that we prefer anything to God (Romans 1:23; 2:23). Commands do not create the possibility of evil. Commands name it.

So, even if we are (relatively) successful in keeping the commandments, we have still failed to deal with the the root problem of evil.  Again, Piper says,

But lawbreaking is not the essence of my evil. Desiring anything above God is the essence of my evil, before any commands name it.

The only solution is a changed new heart, led by the Spirit of God who awakens in me a desire for God above all esle.  Read the entire post by John Piper here

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

