Home > culture > Buy an experience not more stuff

Buy an experience not more stuff

February 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Wondering what to do with that extra money?  Give away half of it.  Then, use the rest to do something with others.  A new study shows, “Experiences bring people more happiness than buying material things.”

  • experiences increase happiness because they are often social in nature.
  • experiences tend to make people feel more alive
  • experiences leave people with positive memories

“It’s not that material things don’t bring any happiness. It’s just that they don’t bring as much,” Howell said. “You’re happy with a new television set. But you’re thrilled with a vacation.”

Since we just had our television stolen, I guess I need to plan a vacation with my wife instead of buying a new one!

  1. February 23, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Recently my laptop went belly up. That put a dent into my internet time. On the particular day of my laptop’s demise, however, we decided to go visit my aunt in the nursing home.

    And while I was sitting there talking with my aunt, seeing her pretty silver hair and remembering at the same time what a dynamo she once used to be, I was very glad NOT to be tapping away at a keyboard.

    Not sure whether I’ll get the thing repaired. I might just be better off without it.

    Ann’s New Friend

    • February 23, 2009 at 8:06 am

      I am amazed at what I see in the world when I am out walking instead of driving. I don’t think I will get rid of my car but . . . maybe I will walk more. We are not going to be in any hurry to replace our tv altho the empty table is a reminder of how we were violated when it was stolen!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

