Home > Books on Spiritual Formation, Spirituality > I don’t have to know

I don’t have to know

February 6, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Encouraging words to me from Merton on Jan 25

Actually, I feel more sure than I ever have in my life that I am obeying the Lord and am on the way He wills for me, though at the same time I am struck and appalled (more than ever!) by the shoddiness of my response.  I am just beginning to awaken and to realize how much more awakening is to come.  And how much is to be faced.  How much I must admit and renounce ambition and agitated self-seeing in my work and contacts.  .  . But God will take care of me, for in my confusion and helplessness I nevertheless feel (believe in) His closeness and strength.  I don’t have to know and see how it will all come out.  (italics mine)

  1. Ken
    February 7, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Your right, I don’t have to know. There is a song that says, “I don’t know about tomorrow but I know who holds my hand.” That is the most important thing. When I can entrust everything into his care I really don’t have to know. Paul said that when he was at his weakest points God showed himself strong.

    • February 7, 2009 at 9:07 pm

      Thanks for the comment. From the beginning Eve and Adam wanted to know even tho everything was perfect, Abram and Sarai wanted to know how the child would be born. What if that longing to know is from God–yet not to be fulfilled until face to face with him? 1 Jn 3:2; 1 Cor 13

  2. Ken
    February 7, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Yea, sometimes I just feel like if I could just sit down with Jesus face to face in reality I could get all those questions answered. Won’t that be wonderful when we can actually do that?
    Ken

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

