Home > culture, Music > Back to “the day the music died”

Back to “the day the music died”

February 6, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know I am dating myself but I used to enjoy listening to American Pie by Don McClean.  Now I found out that McClean wrote it in memory of the death of Buddy Holley–the day the music died!! Most of you probably already knew that but I didn’t.  Check out here for a line by line interpretation of the song. What started this was seeing a post on World Mag that linked to an article in the Washington Post about the the 50th anniversary (on Feb 3)  of the death of Buddy Holley. I had that lp album and only got rid of it a few years ago.  Just checked and thankfully, it looks like it was not a collectible! But, I do still like the song and I am downloading as I write so I can listen to it after this.    Just read over the lyrics and it is a long song (over 8 minutes and more than 10 stanzas).  Actually, McClean refers to God in a number of places in the song.  Here is the last one–I know, bad theology but fun to sing and a reminder once again of the power of music.

And in the streets: the children screamed,

The lovers cried, and the poets dreamed.

But not a word was spoken;

The church bells all were broken.

And the three men I admire most:

The father, son, and the holy ghost,

They caught the last train for the coast

The day the music died.

  1. Margy McKay
    February 13, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Being your older sister and somewhat responsible that you are educated in “some” things – I cannot believe you did not know that song was about Buddy Holley – I ask your forgiveness!! Love, Sis

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

