Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > Be kind to the ungrateful

Be kind to the ungrateful

February 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t know about you but I find Luke 6:35 to be a challenging verse,

But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back.  Then, your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because He is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. (NIV)

Imagine how it would feel to be the one on the ground in this picture.

trust-4After spending some time the last few weeks in Psalm 62, I knew the Lord was asking me to respond to insults, slights, lies, criticisms, opposition, etc.  with “I wait quietly before God.”   Certainly before responding in anger with my words, spoken or electronically.  During some extended time in prayer on Thursday, the Lord even prompted me to pray for some with whom it is a challenge to relate.  Well, in reading Luke 6:20-45 today, I see Jesus elevating the challenge yet again.

It is one thing to trust my King with the wounds inflicted by others but now he is saying to bless them, to love them, to do good to them! I am not sure I understand the point of being kind to the ungrateful besides it being a matter of obedience to Jesus; a way that others will see that we are truly “acting as children of the Most High” (New Living Lk 6:35)  What about that verse that says we are to shake off the dust from our feet  and go another way when people reject our message???

I am tremendously grateful that the matter of obedience is not something I must “tough out” on my own.  I think reading Gary Thomas’, The Beautiful Fight, has begun bringing hints of liberation to this traveler regarding the principle of the divine-human cooperation of grace.  I don’t have the words  to even express it properly right now.

As I re-read the words of the heading of this post, “Be kind to the grateful;” something in my flesh rebels.  But, gratefully, I choose to be led by the Spirit rather than carry out the desires of the flesh.  It should be an interesting week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

