Home > Books on Spiritual Formation > Reassurance from Merton

Reassurance from Merton

January 26, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Is this God reassuring me?  As the dissertation continues, I need some reassurance and a proper focus. More from Merton, Jan 10.

God’s love takes care of everything I do.  He guides me in all my work and in my reading, at least until I get greedy and start rushing from page to page.

I am confident about the following Merton quote regarding where I am in ministry and studies right now.  I wish I could say the same about my dissertation topic!

He has put me in this place because He wants me in this place, and if He ever wants to put me anywhere else, He will do so in a way that will leave no doubt as to who is doing it.

  1. Charlie
    January 27, 2009 at 5:24 am

    I have gone back and forth on this. There are those, such as George Mueller, who had the mindset to diligently continue at what is before you until God makes it clear that it is time to move on. This suits my personality:-) Others however believe that we should be more proactive. We should move first, then let God direct/redirect along the way?? Maybe it’s not an either/or:-)

  2. January 28, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I think the key is being attentive to God and what is happening within us and our world. Once again, the divine-human dance–both are needed but our part is infinitesimal compared to his.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

