Home > Scripture Reflections > Waiting in quietness before God

Waiting in quietness before God

January 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am grateful for the way the Lord opened up Psalm 62 to me this week.  Perhaps it was helped by a Merton quote

I need very much this silence and this snow.  Here alone can I find my way because here alone the way is right in front of my face and it is God’s way for me–there really is no other.

Here is what I come away with from Psalm 62–reading from New Living.

I wait quietly before God for my salvation comes from him.

I wait quietly before God for my hope is in him

I wait quietly before God for my honor comes from him

I wait quietly before God for my refuge is in him

He alone is my rock and my salvation, my refuge where I will not be shaken.

Oh, God you are might, you are loving.

When do I do this? When

  • I am tempted
  • I am afraid
  • I am lonely
  • I am discouraged
  • I feel far away from God
  • I am criticized
  • I am disappointed
  • I am angry
  • I am lost
  • I am deceived
  • I am slandered
  • I am ambitious
  • I am proud
  • I need to know
  • I want to manipulate others
  • I feel the need to be in control
  • I am tempted to trust in anything/anyone other than God.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

