Home > Ramblings > Burdened with great responsibility

Burdened with great responsibility

January 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Now that I am back home, I picked up A Year With Thomas Merton and began reading through the selections from Jan 1.  It was almost too much!  Here is a quote from Jan 1.

I have been absurdly burdened since the beginning of the year with the illusions of “great responsibility” and of a task to be done.  Actually, whatever work is to be done is God’s work and not mine, and I wil not help matters, only hinder them, by too much care.

I think I saw this last year because I had underlined it from previous reading.  Maybe this has been my problem of late as I think about the “importance” of my ministry here and notice myself groaning under the dissertation burden.  Indeed, God has given these responsibilities to me and I need to take them seriously but I also need to remember that this is His work, not mine.  Some doubt here as I write??

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

