Home > Uncategorized > Day 4 and 5 of dissertation writing class

Day 4 and 5 of dissertation writing class

January 17, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

It is now Saturday morning and I am grateful that our week is over but of course the research phase has only begun!  The Lord gave much grace this week.  Lots of ups and downs.  Was quite discouraged on Thursday after realizing during a mini-conference with a prof that I had a flawed purpose statement and research question #3.  Then, we played a game where we had to repeat our purpose statement and research questions to eight other people in thirty seconds.  Each time, I said it, it felt more wrong than before!

Well, I jumped in front of the line when we had our longer (20 min) conference with our major prof and she gently worked me through my concern.  After more work on revising, I think I have something that is workable–that fits in my area of interest, passion and will advance the research around member care.  So, here is the latest revision of my purpose statement.  Even now, as I look at it, I can see it needs some work but I need to put this aside for a few days.

The purpose of this study was to evaluate the effectiveness of a six week web-based spiritual mentoring program to impact the spiritual wellness and overall wellness of a group of twelve missionaries.

As I look at the temp this morning, it is 15 F or -9 C and got down as cold as -2.9 F or -19.4 C in the last twenty-four hours.  That is unreasonably cold for this Filipino kid.  Take me back to the tropics.  Maybe I need to give up my ambition of going to Mongolia!!   Time to pack up and hit the library for another 3 or 4 hours before traveling back to Houston.  Thank you Lord.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

