Home > Ramblings > Dissertation writing class–day 2

Dissertation writing class–day 2

January 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tested yesterday.  First question in class was, “What did you learn from day 1?”

My comments were

¨ I need others to speak the truth to me

¨ My writing is not as good as I thought

¨ Don’t worry about being perfect—just write

Well, that was easier said than done.  With a increasing uneasiness throughout the day, I went to dinner with a friend last night and to visit a fellow student who had a heart attack after the first morning class!  Well, over dinner he asked me some helpful and loving questions and I quickly realized that I needed some major revisions.

Sooooo, went home and sat two hours in front of the computer trying to desperately figure out how to salvage this thing.  Finally, about 10:30, I gave up and started to write.  Had to stop about 1:30.  Actually, I didn’t throw everything out but I did start over.  Here is my revised purpose statement

The purpose of this study was to evaluate the ability of a 3 month web-based spiritual mentoring program to impact the overall missionary wellness among a group of 12 OMF missionaries in the Philippines.

Other notes from class to remember

  • I don’t believe there are any good writers, only good editors
  • Many people don’t want the responsibility for having a doctorate
  • You will have every aspect of your study researched
  • You are reading to show that your research has a foundation to which you can add
  • Give up your opinion if it is not supported by research
  • Learn to write concisely
  • If you can’t communicate clearly in your writing, are you communicating clearly orally?

Don’t give up.  Commitment number four for 2009

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

