Home > Ramblings > Day 1 of my dissertation writing class

Day 1 of my dissertation writing class

January 13, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

“I have no idea what you mean,” was the reply of my friend and classmate to a draft purpose statement I wrote yesterday for my proposal.  I told her that I really appreciated her being honest with me and I hopefully made progress in the clarity of my words last night.  We will see today in Day 2 of class.

Our class is a fast paced, one in which our prof is pushing us to have a solid draft of the first three chapters of our proposal.   After all day in class, she expects us to write for a minimum of four hours each night.  Didn’t get that much done last night since I had to sleep since I stayed up till early in the morning on Sunday night.  But there is progress.

Some notes and thoughts from class

  • Is that your opinion or based on research?
  • What you do behind the scenes with your research is just as caring as what you do when you are hands on with people
  • Be a patient learner with yourself as you move step by step
    .
  • Lose the perfectionistic behavior and attitude that when we write something, it is done!
  • Do something to help the church!
  • The process is as important as the findings
  • We want to make you into a life-long researcher
  • Do not teach anyone the way you were taught but teach them the way in which they will live in their world
  • Teach people where they live!!
  • It is your responsibility to read the research in your area
  • You can bias your own research by your own prior understandings.
  • A doctorate means that there will always be something in the way!
  • Be humble—don’t be arrogant in your expertise. To be self-deprecating is to show a lack of confidence. People do not want to listen to you if you are self-deprecating—that comes from our own inadequacies. Let’s get rid of those fears and inadequacies.  (Note: our prof didn’t tell us how to do this!)
  • Do no harm to others with your research

Wow, am I ready for another day?  Does it matter? Ok, here is my draft purpose

The purpose of this study is to evaluate if the spiritual health of a group of 15  missionaries living in the Philippines can be positively affected by participation in a web-based peer spiritual mentoring group for a period of three months.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

