Home > culture > People buying things they don’t need with money they don’t have

People buying things they don’t need with money they don’t have

December 27, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

. . . to impress people they don’t like! Just back on Christmas Day into the land of the post-Christmas sales. I have a few things I want to pick up here but generally I don’t go shopping unless there is something specific I want to pick up. Unless, I am going to people watch. I seem to be out of synch with the culture and life here. Maybe I need to do some cross-cultural study to try to figure out this place.
Began car shopping with my daughter yesterday and it is an odd experience. When the salesman made u s an offer on a car and we didn’t make a counter-offer but said we needed to go, he said that didn’t usually happen. I think I am missing something here. Will go to the mall later today I suppose so the following article by Michelle Singletary on Our Relationship With The Mall seems to fit here.

I have another way to describe that big, never-ending place where sales are king.

I call the mall a “den of iniquity” because it is often a place where immoral shopping goes on. And by that I mean people buy things they don’t need with money they don’t have and may never have.

I will admit that I was a mall rat at one time. I lived to find bargains. I loved going to the mall and hunting for sales. But then I had an epiphany. I realized that you never save when you spend. No matter how much of a sale you find at the mall, you are not saving money. You are spending less, but you are not saving.

So, I’ll confess I’m not terribly troubled by all the retail failures or store closings. I’m a wee bit happy that the “mallworld” is collapsing as Post Style reporter Hank Stuever wrote recently.

In an essay, Stuever calls these times “shopocalypse.

We’re living at what may be the beginning of the end of mallworld as we know it:”

Maybe I need to compare malling in the Philippines with malling here this week. Already we have been shocked by the quiet and the absence of people. I wonder if the mall will be the same. On the last day in the Philippines, we were trying to make sure the garbage collectors received their Christmas present from us to ensure our garbage would continue to be collected.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

