Home > Ramblings > Grieving the loss of a friend

Grieving the loss of a friend

December 11, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Received the following email yesterday

Karen has passed from the land of the dying into the land of the living and into the waiting arms of her Lord and Savior Jesus Christ tonight. . .Now she and Ben are together in heaven.

Karen was a good friend and fellow mish here who lost her son, Ben to cancer about five years ago and within a year of his death, contracted cancer herself.  It is hard and I am glad that I have taken the day at home as a personal day.  She was very honest about her journey and yet it was never about her, always her focus was on God.   Some comfort in music.

Karen is now “Resting in the arms of Jesus”–Matthew Smith does a great job with the song.   You can listen to him sing this song by scrolling on the music player.

Of course I have been listening to Matt Redman’s Blessed Be the Name.  To the end Karen was blessing God’s name.

Blessed Be Your name
When I'm found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed Be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I'll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

But I also found Redman’s You Never Let Go.

Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death,

Your perfect love is casting out fear.
And even when I’m caught
in the middle of the storms of this life,
I won’t turn back, I know You are near.

And I will fear no evil,
For my God is with me.
And if my God is with me,
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

O no, You never let go,
Through the calm and through the storm
O no, You never let go,
In every high and every low
O no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me.
(you keep on loving and you never let go)

Verse 2:
And I can see a light
that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare.
And there will be an end
to these troubles, But until that day comes,
We’ll live to know You here on the earth.

You can play either of these songs by doing a search on seeqpod

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

