Home > culture > Most irritating phrases

Most irritating phrases

November 15, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here are the top ten most irritating phrases.

1 – At the end of the day

2 – Fairly unique

3 – I personally

4 – At this moment in time

5 – With all due respect

6 – Absolutely

7 – It’s a nightmare

8 – Shouldn’t of

9 – 24/7

10 – It’s not rocket science

Thanks to Tom McMahon, who suggests trying to use all ten in one sentence!

  1. November 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Fun post! How ’bout these:

    I for one; positively; the bottom line; the thing is; for the most part.

    There are more, but I’m drawing a blank – that’s one – drawing a blank, oh and what was I going to say? and I can’t think!

  2. November 16, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Thanks! Hopefully, others will add some more to the list. I guess I need to do so as well. Living out of the States, I don’t hear the phrase much here but last time I was there, i did get tired of hearing, “whatever” and another extremely irritating one for me is using segway as a verb–again maybe it is because I live most of the time out of the U.S. but first time I heard it, I did a double take, figured out what they meant and have since noticed others using it unfortunately.

  3. November 19, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Correction–was told yesterday that segway was a word (verb at that) in English before the motorized bike segway was invented. Still irritating to me when people use it.

  4. tracey
    November 20, 2008 at 2:12 am

    segue

  5. nikiwe
    January 15, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I loved reading your blog – my pet peeves:

    the overuse of ‘like’ – at first I wondered why the overuse of similes … then it hit me, when the overusage got so irritating and extremely annoying. I sometimes wonder how these younger people write, especially college students!

    when I overhear people say, “I was in Africa!” For goodness sake, it is a continent with 53 independent countries EACH with their own languages, political dynamics and cultural nuances! That is my mission to ‘correct’ them and/or ignore them and yes, I am from South Africa.

    Happy 2009 for good usage of language and imparting knowledge 🙂

    • January 15, 2009 at 6:48 am

      Thanks, your comment reminded me to post another one on English that I had. Our prof this week gave us one on how NOT to write that I will post as soon as I get it from her.

  6. nikiwe
    January 15, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    allow me:

    what does ‘off of’ mean – had never heard of that usage before!

    I thought ‘bicycle’ is the noun for ‘bicycle’; ‘cyclist’ the pronoun as opposed to ‘bicyclist’ (which I often hear) and ‘cycling’ the verb and not ‘bicycling’ (which I hear on the radio and/or read in the local newspapers) … I also have to close my ears when I hear the traffic reporter on radio say, ‘the “stole car” has been removed’ as opposed to ‘the “stolen car”: her colleagues tend to say ‘they were “beat” by …’ and I go WHAAAAAAAAATTT?????!!!!

    What has happened to the poor past participle??? 😦

    Thank you and happy Thursday 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

