Home > Ramblings, Scripture Reflections > Whatever You want to do God

Whatever You want to do God

November 3, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today is the first day for reading in Psalm 90 this week–looks to be a fruitful week.  One verse stands out to me this morning, “You are God, without beginning or end.”  My response to this Psalm and specifically this verse, is “Lord, you can do whatever you like.  I want to let you do whatever You want in my life–whatever. ”

Read this last week, “God does not ask us for success; God asks only for our surrender.”  I realize that I have been fighting God–I have had this idea of the way things should be going and when they don’t or haven’t,  I have become angry, frustrated and tend to blame others, pout, lose my joy and perspective.  Where is this divine human cooperation thing that I so strongly believe in.  Sounds an awful lot like David only wanting his way and refusing to be submissive to God or anyone else.   Seeing many people that want (need?) to be in control and yes, I am one of them.  Ok, Lord, not just an apathetic, “whatever” but an active waiting, the steadied watching to see what God wants–yes, Lord, whatever you want–may I not resist your plan or what you are doing in the world (as if I could!).  Surrender to your will.  That means engaging some people with whom I am in conflict–speaking the truth to them but leaving the consequences and decision into your hands.  Ok, Lord, whatever you decide to do today, I am going to follow.

Tags:
  1. Keener
    November 5, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Nice posting. And a most interesting line “God does not ask us for success; God asks only for our surrender.” I’ll have to ponder that. Ultimately I sense a feeling of peace by following your directions and surrendering to God. I like it.

    This is my first time here. Glad I stopped by.

  2. November 6, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Thanks for dropping by and making a post. Surrender is the answer altho I must admit that I talk about it more than I actually do it–as evidenced by my behavior! Need to do a follow up post on this

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

