Home > Poetry, Spirituality > Something I wanted to tell you

Something I wanted to tell you


Holy One,

There is something I wanted to tell you

But there have been errands to run,

bills to pay,
arrangements to make,
meetings to attend
friends to entertain
washing to do . . .
and I forget what it is I wanted to say to you,
and mostly I forget what I’m about,
or why.

Oh God,
don’t forget me, please
for the sake of Jesus Christ. . . .

O Father in heaven
perhaps you’ve already heard what I wanted to tell you.

What I wanted to ask is
forgive me,
heal me,
increase my courage, please.

Renew in me a little of love and faith,
and a sense of confidence,
and a vision of what it might mean
to live as though you were real,
and I mattered,
and everyone was sister and brother.

What I wanted to ask in my blundering way is
don’t give up on me,
don’t become too sad about me,
but laugh with me,
and try again with me,
and I will with you, too.

From Ted Loder, Guerrillas of Grace

Found in Strengthening the Soul of Your Leadership by Ruth Barton

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment