Home > culture > What does it mean to live by faith?

What does it mean to live by faith?

September 30, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t know about you but I am not exactly sure what it means for me to live by faith.  I guess it will be different for all of us but I wonder if all those who walk by faith do share certain characteristics.    Spent the morning in Hebrews 11 and I find it to be a challenging chapter.  It goes well with my Psalm for the week–Psalm 89, on the faithfulness of God.

One very small thing I have done in the last few weeks that seems to be producing positive returns is making sure that I read my Bible first thing in the morning.  It is not that I have not been reading my Bible in the morning but it is the order of my Bible reflections.   Until recently, when I would get up, I would make my coffee and then while drinking my first cup of coffee, I would check emails, check the baseball scores, how the market did overnight and maybe even my blog.  Then, I would read.  For me, I had it reversed.  It seems that my appetite for being “connected” has dwarfed even my relationship with God.  And, I really am not one of these 24/7 connected kind of guys.

After a few weeks, I find that most of the time, I am less distracted than before.  That first step to meet with God is all crucial and once it is made, God does the rest.  Actually, he is the one who arouses the desire in me to meet with him–sort of like, “we love because he first loved us.”  I admit that one day I did open up the computer first, “just for a minute,” but for the most part, this has been a good thing for me.  I know how easily this could slide into legalism and so will need to be aware of that–the warning sign of that is when I begin thinking that my pattern should be followed by others and find myself secretly judging them or feeling pride about my spiritual practices.

Since I had decided what I was going to write on this morning, I checked the internet before blogging to see how the market did last night (Monday in U.S.) and was not totally surprised to see a huge drop.  So, here is a good first case study on what it means to live by faith.  I wonder if the market volatility has revealed to some of us where are heart really is–“where your treasure is, there is your heart,” said Jesus?  What a great opportunity for those of us who call ourselves believers to not live in fear and anxiety about possible market collapses.  Why?  Because we trust that “God exists and is a rewarder of those who seek him.” (Heb 11:6)  Because we admit that we truly are strangers and aliens on this world and we are looking forward to to a home God is preparing for us (11:14), “one that cannot be shaken!” (Heb 12:28)

Comments, reactions?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

