Home > Ramblings, Spirituality > Practice in receiving reproof

Practice in receiving reproof

September 29, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Let the godly strike me!

It will be a kindness!

If they reprove me, is soothing medicine.

Don’t let me refuse it.”  Psalm 141:5 New Living

A few weeks ago, I spent some time meditating on this verse–even used it in a couple of devotional message. So, it was only a matter of time before the test came!

“That is dishonest.  Don’t you know that is breaking the law.  I am surprised that you, a person in authority would do such a thing.”  Those were the words that a friend spoke to me a few weeks ago after she discovered that I had–photocopied a book for our library here.   One reason that she may have reacted so strongly is due to the fact that she is an editor for a book publisher.  She spoke with a smile and spoke, I believe with love.  I did okay (not great, just okay) in receiving her rebuke and with some time past, I can see what a gift her words were for me.

And yet, today, I have been misunderstood a couple of times as I spoke the truth in love–well at least I thought it was in love.  So, I will have practice tomorrow at applying, “a gentle word turns away wrath!”

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

